Home   Find a Store   In Bulk      Français

SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

At Karité Delapointe, we believe in the importance of environmentally-friendly production processes.

In Québec, we make Organic Certified skincare products according to methods that are ecologically responsible. We also encourage Léo Cooperative to adopt sustainable production processes that respect the natural environment.
 
In Burkina Faso, shea butter is produced according to Ecocert’s specifications and environmental criterions (ref. Chapter 1.3 Environmental Criterions):
     
  • Good farming and industrial methods
     
  • Water and energy resource management
    o   Promotion of renewable energies
    o   Reduction of greenhouse gases
    o   Responsible management of water
     
  • Waste management
    o   Attention to compost and methanation solutions (production of methane)
     
  • Protection of biodiversity
    o   Evaluation of the consequences of production and product-transformation on the environment

Due to these principles, Ecocert Certification ensures a final product that is almost entirely free of chemical additives and encourages production processes that do not have a negative impact on the environment.

In addition, members of the CO-OP are now working on new ways to reduce their impact on the environment. Working towards better waste management, The Union of Léo is establishing processes that will help recycle water and nut shells in order to create compost and ecologically responsible sources of combustible energy. This will also generate potential revenues for women and the larger community.

DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE

Chez Karité Delapointe, nous accordons beaucoup d’importance à une production respectueuse de l’environnement.

Au Québec, nous fabriquons des soins corporels Certifiés biologiques, selon des méthodes de production respectueuses de l’environnement. Nous encourageons également la coopérative de Léo à adopter des méthodes de production vertes et durables.

Au Burkina Faso, le beurre de karité est fabriqué en respectant le cahier de charges d’Écocert qui accorde beaucoup d’importance aux critères environnementaux (réf. Chapitre 1.3 Critères environnementaux) :
     
  • Bonnes pratiques agricoles et industrielles

  • Gestion des ressources en eau et en énergie
      - Promotion des énergies renouvelables
      - Diminution des gaz à effet de serre
      - Gestion respectueuse de l’eau

  • Gestion des déchets
      - Une attention est portée aux solutions de compostage et de méthanisation.

  • Protection de la biodiversité.
      - Évaluation des conséquences des rejets lors de la transformation des produits.
Conséquemment, la certification Écocert favorise non seulement un produit final exempt de produits chimiques mais surtout un mode de production sans impacts négatifs sur l’environnement.

Par ailleurs, les membres de la coopérative de Léo travaillent actuellement pour réduire l’impact de la production du karité sur leur environnement. Une meilleure gestion des résidus est visée. Par exemple, l’Union de Léo met actuellement en place des procédés dans le but de récupérer les eaux usées et les coques des amandes afin de créer du compost et du combustible écologique, source potentielle d’énergie…et de revenus pour les femmes et leur communauté !